St. Paul Students, 1931-1933

December 7, 2022
Share this article

St. Paul School students Francis Brumbeloe, Louis Gray, Harrel Copeland and Anna Delle Rawdon are shown between in 1931-1933. St. Paul School was 10 miles west of Waxahachie on US 287. Although named the Gardner School, everyone called it St. Paul School because it was next to St. Paul Methodist Church. The land for the school and a cemetery was donated by William and Susie Gardner in 1881. In 1894, the Fife family donated an adjacent piece of land for the church. The school was disbanded in 1940 and the building was sold and moved to Midlothian.

To learn more about Mansfield history, check out the Mansfield Historical Museum, 102 N. Main St., open 10 a.m.-4 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday. Admission is free. For more info, call 817-473-4250, or go to

Photo courtesy of the Mansfield Historical Society.

Get the word out!

Mansfield, Texas, is a booming city, nestled between Fort Worth and Dallas, but with a personality all its own. The city’s 76,247 citizens enjoy an award-winning school district, vibrant economy, historic downtown, prize-winning park system and community focus spread across 37 square miles. The Mansfield Record is dedicated to reporting city and school news, community happenings, police and fire news, business, food and restaurants, parks and recreation, library, historical archives and special events. The city’s only online newspaper launched in September 2020 and will offer introductory advertising rates for the first three months at three different rates.

Advertise with us!